Skip to content

The Little White Muse

March 18, 2011

Rikki Tikki Tavi, this is the name of the crazy little white cat that entered our lives about a year and a half ago. I grew up surrounded by animals, and I really wanted an animal to live in our apartment with us. Even though I would normally opt for a dog, our place is small and we had to think of what animal would be the happiest in our place.

I am a huge fan of adopting animals; there are so many little critters out there that would do anything for a home and some love. Even though there are a bunch of animals in pet shops that need homes, the ones in shelters need homes just as badly and are usually much cheaper and will normally already be spayed/neutered.  So needless to say …. off to the shelter we went!

While looking at all of the kittens, we couldn’t really make up our minds. So we decided to walk away and think about it, which was NOT easy.

BUT a certain little cat had a different idea on his mind.

Introducing ……..*drum roll please*

Rikki Tikki Tavi!

(This was the very first picture we took of him when we brought him home from the shelter)

So back to the story … As we got up to leave the kitten room, this random cat named “When” jumped up onto the hubby’s shoulder from the floor. We were all cracking up, this little guy basically was saying “Um excuse me, you’re forgetting something! And by something, I mean ME”. His name was When and he had brothers, also all white, and their names were Who, What, and Where. The cute factor went through the roof, and we knew who we had to take home with us, little When.

So since his name was adorable, but realistically not going to work, we named him Rikki Tikki Tavi, after the cute short story in The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling.

*********

So my Etsy store: every name I tried to come up with for my store was taken. It was getting horribly frustrating. While taking a break from making the store, I cuddled up with Rikki Tikki and was instantly calmed. And it hit me … The Little White Cat was created. The cat is always sitting on my stuff while I’m trying to craft, he has to be right there with me. So why not dedicate it to him?

So he is my love (besides the hubby of course) and keeps me smiling day to day with his little cat antics. Here are some more pictures of the crazy little guy.. enjoy 🙂

Head butts for life 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

